If the page does not redirect, click here
PLOS Science Wednesdays: Hi, we’re Manica Balasegaram and Bernard Pécoul, here to talk about prospects for a global health R&D fund to fight Ebola, Antibiotic Resistance & Neglected Diseases — AUA!
Hi, I’m Manica Balasegaram, executive director of the Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) Access Campaign, where we work to increase access to essential medicines for all. I worked for years as an MSF physician in the field in several African countries and in the Indian sub-continent, where I experienced firsthand the dire need for research and development for drugs, where the market does not incentivize. I’m Bernard Pécoul, executive director of the Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative, a non-profit research and development organization that uses public and private funding and partnerships, spanning from governments to pharmaceutical companies, to develop and deliver treatments for neglected diseases. I started out as an MSF field doctor where I discovered the extent to which neglected populations were left behind by the vast medical advances of the past half-century. We’re here to discuss our recent article in PLOS Medicine, titled “A Global Biomedical R&D Fund and Mechanism for Innovations of Public Health Importance”. The paper calls for a broad framework for funding and coordinating research and development for Ebola, Antibiotic Resistance, and Neglected Diseases initiatives in low-and-middle income countries. We see investing in health as a cost-saving and lifesaving strategy, and called upon the global community to invest in a biomedical R&D fund at the recent G7 Summit in Germany. We’ll be answering your questions at 1pm EDT (10 am PDT, 17:00 UTC) — AUA! submitted by PLOSScienceWednesday [link] [5 comments]